News: False Khan-Kotelnik Rumours; AAPRP 2009 Awards

Rumours on certain boxing chat room forums have falsely suggested that Amir Khan’s world title fight against Andreas Kotelnik at the M.E.N Arena on July 18th is off, and that Khan will fight John Murray or Shane Mosley. These rumours are totally false and without merit and should be disregarded. Dean Powell, matchmaker at Frank Warren Promotions, has spoken to Hedi Taouab and Stefan Braune at Universum, the promoter of Kotelnik, and they have denied these rumours..

Universum / Michael Timm statement

Because of rumours on certain boxing chat room or forums, here is a fresh statement of Kotelniks surprised coach Michael Timm:

“These rumours are totally false and without any background. The opposite is the truth. Andreas Kotelnik will restart his phase of sparring on Monday. He’s top fit and his dental problems are completly solved. I feel very optimistic for the title bout of my world champion Andreas Kotelnik and there is at the moment nothing, I repeat nothing, what can threaten our fight at the M.E.N Arena on July 18th against Amir Khan. Like my counterpart Freddie Roach will say: these rumours are bullshit!”


Darien, Connecticut – June 26, 2009 – The American Association of Professional Ringside Physicians (AAPRP) announced today its 2009 AAPRP Award Recipients. They are as follows:

Ringside Physician of the Year – Dr. Anthony Alessi
Connecticut/Mohegan Sun/Foxwoods Ringside Physician

Administrator of the Year – Ms. Melvina Lathan
Chairman, New York State Boxing Commission

Greg Page Memorial “Outstanding Contribution to Boxing” – Mr. Peter King
Congressman – United States House of Representatives

Distinguished Educator of the Year – Dr. Patricio Reyes
Director, Alzheimer’s and Cognitive Disorders Program – Karsten Solheim Dementia Research Chair

John Burns, Jr. Memorial “Lifetime Achievement Award”–Mr. Arthur Mercante, Sr.
World Renowned Boxing Referee

Media Award in Ringside Safety – Mr. Harold Lederman
Boxing Commentator – HBO Sports

The 2009 AAPRP Medical Seminar on Ringside Safety, (in cooperation with Norwalk Hospital), will take place October 15 – 17, 2009 at the Mohegan Sun Casino in Uncasville, Connecticut. These awards will be presented on Friday Evening, October 16, 2009 at the AAPRP’s annual awards banquet.

For more information or for registration materials to attend the banquet, please contact the AAPRP by visiting our website at www.AAPRP.Org or call (203) 662-8900.

Established in 1997, the AAPRP was created to develop medical protocols and guidelines to ensure the safety and protection of professional fighter. The not-for-profit association is comprised of experienced ringside physicians from around the world who are dedicated to the medical aspects of the sport of boxing. Since its inception, the AAPRP has consistently grown to include physicians from around the globe who are working together toward a common goal of helping to ensure the health, safety and protection of professional boxers and mixed martial artists.

Next post:

Previous post:

Boxing News News: False Khan-Kotelnik Rumours; AAPRP 2009 Awards