Carl Frampton wants to become known as the greatest fighter ever to have come out of Ireland, and last night, with his terrific win over an excellent defending champion in Leo Santa Cruz, “The Jackal” took one huge stride towards achieving his goal. Out-pointing the relentless defending WBA featherweight champion, Frampton boxed superbly and he is now a two-weight world ruler. All congratulations and respect go out to Frampton and he will now head back to a hero’s reception in Belfast.
The big question is what next for Frampton, and Santa Cruz? Last night’s fight was all that is great about boxing: two fine, unbeaten athletes in their prime, exchanging quality punches throughout, not a clinch in sight, the fans thrilled to the very end. And the final result of the fight was hanging in the balance until the very end – or so we thought. Once again – and not at all wanting to rain on Frampton’s parade – the boxing judges came close to spoiling a magical occasion. As it turned out, only one of the three officials had the fight hanging in the balance until the very end. Was Frampton really a 4-point winner? A SIX-point winner! No way. The draw handed in by the third official was more on the money, and it really was quite staggering hearing how one judge had Santa Cruz winning just three rounds!
Read moreCarl Frampton tops Leo Santa Cruz in terrific fight; how about a rematch?