Joval Stops Taylor!


26.11.05 – By Tony Nobbs: IBO middleweight champion Raymond Joval retained his title by stopping Shannan Taylor in round ten at Vodafone Arena in Melbourne on Sunday afternoon. Joval was just to busy and a step ahead of Taylor through out the fight. A classy, if not action packed bout. The 33 year old Aussie did well in some of the exchanges but lacked the punch out put to seriously pressure the 37 year old Dutchman and he was taking punishment on the ropes when referee Pat Russell intervened. Taylor has done an admirable job getting his career back on track in recent years and can hold his head high. He plans to fight again. Joval was humble in victory.

Under card action: In a war, local fave ‘Diamond’ Dale Westerman retained his OPBF light heavyweight title stopping Sydney’s Brett Culey in round ten. Culey was down and copping stiff punishment at the bell ending round one. Westerman stayed in control until he was hurt in round five from a left hook and the next four rounds were see saw until the end came with Culey’s corner stopping the fight after his second trip to the mat in the tenth.

Adam Vella scored a unanimous eight round decision over Matt Shaw. Vella took a ten round UD over Shaw to claim the Australian middleweight belt on last months Anyos-Acuna card and he did the job a bit more comfortably this time.

“Hollywood” Chad Bennett retained the IBO Intercontinental title with a unanimous decision over Argentine Ariel Aparacio in a twelve round sleeping pill. Aparacio was deducted points in rounds two, three and four for excessive holding while Bennett had a point taken away for punching after the bell to end the sixth.

Melbourne’s Australian light heavyweight champion “Tiger” Tim Bell stopped NZ’s Timo Masua in the first round. A right to the ribs did the trick.

In another rematch from the Anyos-Acuna u/c, Daniel Geale stopped Garry Comer in round two, middleweights. He took eight rounds to do it last time.

Promoters: Blaster & Blue Corner Promotions

Sky Channel commentators: Matt Brooks, Paul Upham & Bob Sheridan.