Erik Morales & Paulie Ayala To Be Special Guests For HOF’s 30th Anniversary

The International Boxing Hall of Fame announced today four-division world champion and 2018 Hall of Fame Inductee Erik “El Terrible” Morales will be in Canastota for the Hall of Fame’s 30th Anniversary celebration during the 2019 Hall of Fame Weekend, June 6-9th.

“It is a great honor for me to be part of the 30th Anniversary celebration of the Hall of Fame, said Morales. “It is always a pleasure to come back to Canastota.”

Born on September 1, 1976 in Tijuana, Baja California, Mexico. Morales turned pro in 1993 won world titles in four weight divisions during his legendary career (WBC/WBO super bantamweight, WBC featherweight, WBC/IBF super featherweight and WBC light welterweight). Morales holds wins over Junior Jones, Wayne McCullough, Guty Espadas Jr., Paulie Ayala, Jesus Chavez, Carlos Hernandez, Manny Pacquiao and Hall of Famer Daniel Zaragoza. He engaged in an epic trilogy with Hall of Famer Marco Antonio Barrera (1-2). Morales retired in 2012 with a pro ledger of 52-9 (36 KOs) and was elected into the Hall of Fame in his first year of eligibility in 2018.

“Erik Morales was a warrior inside the ring who provided fight fans with so many thrilling moments during his remarkable career,” said Hall of Fame director Edward Brophy. “The Hall of Fame is thrilled to welcome ‘El Terrible’ back to Canastota to help celebrate the 30th anniversary.”

Brandun Lee battles Samuel Teah on Showtime on Mar.10th


The International Boxing Hall of Fame announced today former bantamweight champion from Fort Worth, TX Paulie Ayala will be in Canastota to participate in the Hall of Fame’s 30th Anniversary celebration during the 2019 Hall of Fame Weekend, June 6-9th.

“It’s been 17 years since I’ve been back to the International Boxing Hall of Fame. I’m attending to support the induction of Fort Worth, Texas’ own Donald Curry, and my good friend Lee Samuels. Also, it is an honor to be attending on the 30 year anniversary of the Hall of Fame,” said Ayala.

Ayala turned pro in 1992 and was WBA bantamweight champion from 1999 – 2001. His 12-round unanimous decision win over Hall of Famer Johnny Tapia for the title in 1999 was named “Fight of the Year” and Ayala earned “Fighter of the Year” honors as well. Ayala retired in 2004 with a professional record of 35-3 (12 KOs) that includes a rematch win over Tapia, as well as victories over Hugo Dianzo, Johnny Bredahl and a pair of wins over Clarence “Bones” Adams. Still active in the sport, Ayala operates his University of Hard Knocks Gym in Fort Worth.

“During his career, Paulie Ayala was a dynamic champion who routinely provided fans with excitement and continues to contribute to the sport through his gym,” said Hall director Edward Brophy. “The Hall of Fame is so happy that he will be in Canastota to help celebrate the Class of 2019 and the Hall’s 30th Anniversary.”

Many events in “Boxing’s Hometown” of Canastota throughout the four-day celebration are planned, including a 5K Race / Fun Run, golf tournament, boxing autograph card show, VIP Cocktail Reception, Parade of Champions and the Official Induction Ceremony on the Hall of Fame Museum Grounds. The Hall of Fame Weekend evening events include Friday night’s Fight Night at Turning Stone and Saturday’s Banquet of Champions. Both events will take place at Turning Stone Resort Casino.

Watch LIVE: Claressa Shields vs Dicaire Weigh In Live Stream

The Class of 2019 includes two division world champions Donald “Lone Star Cobra” Curry, Julian “The Hawk” Jackson and James “Buddy” McGirt; welterweight champion Tony DeMarco; matchmaker / promoter Don Elbaum, referee / judge Guy Jutras, publicist Lee Samuels, broadcaster Teddy Atlas and journalist Mario Rivera Martino.

An impressive list of over 35 boxing greats from the United States and abroad, including five-time world champion Vinny Paz, junior welterweight star “Irish” Micky Ward, 1970s heavyweight star Earnie Shavers, two-division champion Ricky “The Hitman” Hatton, bantamweight champion Paulie Ayala, welterweight champion John H. Stracey, referee Kenny Bayless and Hall of Famers Carlos Ortiz, Michael Carbajal and Marco Antonio Barrera, are scheduled to participate in the 30th Anniversary celebration.