Results: Jesus Rojas defeats Claudio Marrero

Claudio Marrero - On the eve of the most important night of boxing, Jesus Rojas (26-1-2, 19 KOs) of Caguas, Puerto Rico captured the WBA Interim Featherweight title with a stunning seventh-round knockout victory against Claudio Marrero (22-2, 16 KOs) in the main event of Golden Boy Boxing on ESPN at the MGM Grand Marquee Ballroom in Las Vegas. Rojas pressured Marrero in each and every round of a back-and-forth fight. Eventually, Marrero succumbed to Rojas' power after a series of counter-punches, culminated by a left hook, ended matters at 2:59 of the seventh round.

On the eve of the most important night of boxing, Jesus Rojas (26-1-2, 19 KOs) of Caguas, Puerto Rico captured the WBA Interim Featherweight title with a stunning seventh-round knockout victory against Claudio Marrero (22-2, 16 KOs) in the main event of Golden Boy Boxing on ESPN at the MGM Grand Marquee Ballroom in Las Vegas. Rojas pressured Marrero in each and every round of a back-and-forth fight. Eventually, Marrero succumbed to Rojas’ power after a series of counter-punches, culminated by a left hook, ended matters at 2:59 of the seventh round.

Read more

Claudio Marrero battles Jesus Rojas on 9/15

Claudio Marrero - On Friday, Sept. 15, one day before the highly anticipated battle for middleweight supremacy between Canelo Alvarez and Gennady "GGG" Golovkin, WBA Interim Featherweight Champion Claudio Marrero (22-1, 16 KOs) will make the first defense of his title against Jesus Rojas (25-1-2, 18 KOs) in the 12-round main event of Golden Boy Boxing on ESPN at the MGM Grand Marquee Ballroom in Las Vegas. The ESPN3 livestream of the undercard bouts begins at 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT, followed by the main event at 9:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. PT on ESPN Deportes and streaming live on ESPN3 and on ESPN2 at 1:15 a.m. ET/10:15 p.m. PT.

On Friday, Sept. 15, one day before the highly anticipated battle for middleweight supremacy between Canelo Alvarez and Gennady “GGG” Golovkin, WBA Interim Featherweight Champion Claudio Marrero (22-1, 16 KOs) will make the first defense of his title against Jesus Rojas (25-1-2, 18 KOs) in the 12-round main event of Golden Boy Boxing on ESPN at the MGM Grand Marquee Ballroom in Las Vegas. The ESPN3 livestream of the undercard bouts begins at 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT, followed by the main event at 9:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. PT on ESPN Deportes and streaming live on ESPN3 and on ESPN2 at 1:15 a.m. ET/10:15 p.m. PT.

Read more