Twelve Under 19 National Champions are Crowned in Kansas City

(KANSAS CITY, MO.) – Four days of boxing culminated in championship round action on Saturday at the KCI Expo Center in Kansas City, Mo. Eleven championship bouts were contested with champions being crowned in nine men’s weight classes and two women’s weight classes. The women’s division is being contested for the first time in Under 19 history and two young women earned the first-ever women’s Under 19 titles. All of the male champions from Saturday’s action won the chance to compete in the Under 19 World Championships, September 6-18 in Agadir, Morocco..

2006 U.S. Championships gold medalist and National Golden Gloves champion Luis Yanez (Duncanville, Texas) won his third national title of the year on Saturday with a victory over Gabino Saenz (Indio, Calif.). The two battled in a competitive contest with Yanez grabbing a small lead early in the bout and slowly extending his advantage through the four rounds of boxing. Yanez held a 5-0 lead after two rounds and doubled his point total in the final two stanzas to win a 10-4 decision over Saenz. Yanez won two Junior Olympic titles before moving to the open division in 2006.

Qa’id Muhammad (Ventnor City, N.J.) and Louie Padilla (Las Vegas, Nev.) faced off in a razor-thin contest from start to finish. Muhammad pulled out to a slim one-point lead and held the same advantage at the midway point of the bout. The two boxers continued to trade punches and momentum through the final two rounds but Muhammad held on to his lead to win a 12-10 victory and the Under 19 flyweight title.

Bantamweight Jorge Diaz, Jr. (New Brunswick, N.J.) competed in his second straight Under 19 championships final on Saturday but fell short in his first attempt to win gold. Diaz enjoyed more success in 2006 as he took on two-time junior champion Shawn Nichol (Lakewood, Colo.). The two boxed to a 3-3 tie after the first round but a strong second round from Diaz moved him out to a 12-6 lead at the halfway mark of the contest. Nichol looked to chip away at Diaz’s lead over the final two rounds but fell short and Diaz won a 20-12 final decision and his first Under 19 National Championship.

The first ever women’s Under 19 National Champion was crowned after a featherweight match-up between Katy Klinefelter (Iowa City, Iowa) and Celina Salazar (Texas). The more experienced Klinefelter grabbed an early, slim lead and enjoyed a 7-4 advantage after two rounds. She continued to pad her lead through final two rounds en route to a 16-8 victory and the first ever women’s Under 19 title. She joins her older sister, Emily, in winning national championships in 2006. The elder Klinefelter won the bantamweight title at the 2006 U.S. Championships.

After a featherweight walkover victory by Sadam Ali (Brooklyn, N.Y.), the two lightweights faced off for a national championship. 2006 Golden Gloves champion Jesus Mendez (Houston, Texas) was hoping for his second national championship of 2006 but 2005 Cadet World Championships bronze medalist Jerry Belmontes (Corpus Christi, Texas) had other plans. Mendez took a slim 3-2 lead after the first round but Belmontes picked up the pace in the second round to take an 11-7 advantage after the second round. Belmontes held onto his lead the final two rounds to win a 22-16 decision over Mendez in their Texas showdown and his first Under 19 title.

In light welterweight action, Andre Sherard (Milwaukee, Wis.) and Raymond Serrano (Philadelphia, Pa.) faced off for a national title. Sherard grabbed the first lead in the contest and refused to relinquish it. He held a 9-5 advantage after two rounds of boxing and held on to his lead to win an 18-15 decision and his first Under 19 National Championship.

The second women’s champion of the event won her national title in the welterweight division as Brittany Inkrote (Red Lion, Pa.) won her second bout of the tournament in a match-up with Brett Bohmont (Springfield, Mo.). Inkrote took over the bout from the opening bell, moving out to a 9-1 lead after the first round. She continued piling on the points in the second round, giving Bohmont two standing eight counts before the referee jumped in and stopped the bout at the 1:26 mark in round two. In addition to winning the welterweight title, Inkrote was named the women’s outstanding boxer.

The men’s welterweight bout showcased a match-up between William Jackson (Cincinnati, Ohio) and Javontae Starks (Minneapolis, Minn.). Starks moved out to the first lead in the bout, enjoying a 3-1 lead after the first round but Jackson quickly grabbed the momentum back in the second round. Jackson took a 7-3 advantage after round two and never looked back. He continued to pile on the points through the final four minutes of the bout to win a 26-8 decision and his first Under 19 title.

Two former national champions faced off in the middleweight final as two-time U.S. Championships gold medalist Demetrius Andrade (Providence, R.I.) and former junior champion Shawn Porter (Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio) battled in a highly anticipated match-up. After a tied first round, Porter took the first lead in the highly-competitive contest. He held a two-point lead at the midway point of the bout and led by one point as the contest moved into the final round. The two boxers battled it out for the final two minutes and when the final bell rang, Porter had recorded a 12-9 victory over Andrade to win his first Under 19 title.

The light heavyweight division final between defending champion Alan Lawrence (Newark, N.J.) and Juan Alcala (Haltom City, Texas) came to a quick end when Lawrence landed a strong right hand, 32 seconds into the first round. The referee stopped the contest, giving Lawrence the win and his second straight Under 19 title. In addition, Lawrence was named the men’s outstanding boxer of the tournament.

2006 Under 19 National Championships competition ended with a heavyweight battle between Dorsett Barnwell (Norfolk, Va.) and Stacy Harrington (South Haven, Mich.). For the second straight day, Barnwell enjoyed a quick start and his efforts earned him a 6-2 lead after two rounds. He continued to control the action through the final two rounds to win an 11-4 decision and his first national championship.

Championship Round Results

106 lbs: Luis Yanez, Duncanville, Texas dec. Gabino Saenz, Indio, Calif., 10-4

112 lbs: Qa’id Muhammad, Ventnor City, N.J. dec. Louie Padilla, Las Vegas, Nev., 12-10

119 lbs: Jorge Diaz, Jr., New Brunswick, N.J., dec. Shawn Nichol, Lakewood, Colo., 20-12

125 lbs: Sadam Ali, Brooklyn, N.Y., won on walkover over Shemuel Pagan, Brooklyn, N.Y., W/O

125 lbs/female: Katy Klinefelter, Iowa City, Iowa dec. Celina Salazar, Texas, 16-8

132 lbs: Jerry Belmontes, Corpus Christi, Texas dec. Jesus Mendez, Houston, Texas, 22-16

141 lbs: Andre Sherard, Milwaukee, Wis., dec. Raymond Serrano, Philadelphia, Pa., 18-15

145 lbs: Brittany Inkrote, Red Lion, Pa., stopped Brett Bohmont, Springfield, Mo., RSC-2 (1:26)

152 lbs: William Jackson, Cincinnati, Ohio dec. Javontae Starks, Minneapolis, Minn., 26-8

165 lbs: Shawn Porter, Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, dec. Demetrius Andrade, Providence, R.I., 12-9

178 lbs: Alan Lawrence, Newark, N.J., stopped Juan Alcala, Haltom City, Texas, RSCH-1 (:32)

201 lbs: Dorsett Barnwell, Norfolk, Va., dec. Stacy Harrington, South Haven, Mich., 12-6

Article posted on 05.08.2006

Bookmark and Share

previous article: Tony Hanshaw and Lafarrel Bunting Triumph on ShoBox

next article: Marquez Brothers, Mabuza, Jandaeng Weights and Quotes

If you detect any issues with the legality of this site, problems are always unintentional and will be corrected with notification.
The views and opinions of all writers expressed on do not necessarily state or reflect those of the Management.
Copyright © 2001- 2015 - Privacy Policy l Contact