WBC Annual Nominations For The Best Of 2005

21.12.05 - The WBC Board of Governors will finalize their votes to select the winners of the yearly awards of the Best in the WBC for the Year 2005. Following you will find the nominations:

Fight of the Year.

1. Diego Corrales vs. Jose Luis Castillo I
2. Thomasz Adameck vs. Paul Briggs
3. Erik Morales vs. Manny Pacquiao
4. Jorge Arce vs. Hussein Hussein I
5. Jesus Chavez vs. Carlos Hernandez,
6. Humberto Soto vs. Rocky Juarez,

Boxer of the Year.

1. Floyd Mayweather
2. Winky Wright
3. Thomasz Adameck
4. Oscar Larios
5. Jermain Taylor
6. Brian Viloria
7. Marco Antonio Barrera
8. Jorge Arce

Knock Out of the Year.

1. Brian Viloria’s devastating one punch K.O. over Ortiz,
2. Marco Antonio Barrera, over Mzonke Fana.
3. Jose Luis Castillo, over Diego Corrales
4. Israel Vazquez over Oscar Larios

The Most Active Promoter of the Year.

1. Don King Productions, promoting 11 fights;
2. Top Rank, promoting 7 fights
3. Golden Boy Promotions with 5 fights.

Greatest Boxing Promotion

1. Diego Corrales vs. Jose Luis Castillo I,
2. Erik Morales vs. Manny Pacquiao
3. Floyd Mayweather vs. Arturo Gatti,
4. Jermain Taylor-Bernard Hopkins I
5. Ricardo Mayorga vs. Michele Picchirillo and Hasim Rahman vs. Monte Barrett.

Revelation Fighter of the Year.

1. Thomasz Adameck, Poland,
2. Brian Viloria, Hawaii
3. Humberto Soto, Mexico

Up-coming Stars of the Year

1. Koki Kameda, from Japan.
2. Julio Cesar Chavez, Jr., from Mexico
3. Edwin Valero, from Venezuela
4. Rusian Chagaev, Russia

Network of the Year.

Wowow, Japan

Man of the Year.

Richard Sturn, MGM, Las Vegas

Article posted on 21.12.2005

Bookmark and Share

previous article: Don King: Boxing In Iraq

next article: ESB Exclusive Interview With Joe Mesi - Mesi Survived the Courts and Lived To Talk About It

If you detect any issues with the legality of this site, problems are always unintentional and will be corrected with notification.
The views and opinions of all writers expressed on do not necessarily state or reflect those of the Management.
Copyright © 2001- 2015 - Privacy Policy l Contact