Ryan O'Neal Named 2005 Parade of Champions Grand Marshal

CANASTOTA, NY Ė APRIL 13, 2005 Ė The International Boxing Hall of Fame announced today Academy Award-nominated actor Ryan OíNeal has been named Grand Marshal of the 16th Annual Boxing Hall of Fame Parade of Champions scheduled for Sunday, June 12th at 1 p.m..

"The Hall of Fame is extremely excited about welcoming Ryan OíNeal to Canastota,'" said Hall of Fame Executive Director Edward Brophy. "He's been a life-long boxing fan and it will be a thrill to have him participate in the Weekend festivities with all of the legends of the game and the fans from around the world."

OíNeal began his acting career in television, appearing in over 500 episodes of the soap opera Peyton Place in the late 1960s. Following his motion picture debut in 1969ís The Big Bounce, OíNeal was cast in the film adaptation of the best-selling novel Love Story. OíNealís performance as Oliver Barrett earned him an Academy Award nomination for "Best Actor" in 1970. Memorable roles followed, including Whatís Up Doc opposite Barbra Streisand, Paper Moon, for which he was nominated for a Golden Globe, and Irreconcilable Differences. OíNeal has made notable television appearances, acting in such programs as Leave It To Beaver, Perry Mason, The Larry Sanders Show and most recently ABCís hit Desperate Housewives.

"Iím extremely happy about being named the Grand Marshal of the 2005 Hall of Fame Parade of Champions," said OíNeal. "It will be an honor to be around the legends of the game that Iíve admired for so long."

The Parade of Champions, set for Sunday, June 12th at 1:00 p.m., will pass through the streets of Canastota and lead to the grounds of the Hall of Fame Museum prior to the start of the Official Induction Ceremony honoring the new class of inductees.

Over 50 boxing stars, including Marvelous Marvin Hagler, Ken Norton, Aaron Pryor, Angelo Dundee, Leon Spinks, Michael Carbajal, Danny "Little Red" Lopez, Jose Torres, Hedgemon Lewis and Canastotaís Carmen Basilio and Billy Backus will be highlighted in the Parade of Champions.

The Hall of Fame Weekend will feature over 20 exciting events. Living inductees to be honored include featherweight champion Bobby Chacon, junior welterweight champion Duilio Loi, featherweight champion Barry McGuigan, junior middleweight champion Terry Norris, writer Bert Sugar and matchmaker Don Fraser. Posthumous inductees will also be honored.

"With the lineup of marching bands, boxing celebrities, and Ryan OíNeal, this should be our biggest parade ever and an unforgettable day for all," said parade chairperson Charlene Barres.

For more information on the Hall of Fameís 16th Annual Induction Weekend please call (315) 697-7095 or visit

Article posted on 13.04.2005

Bookmark and Share

previous article: Williams to Face Cauthen on ShoBox April 22nd

next article: James Toney Eager To Fight John Ruiz

If you detect any issues with the legality of this site, problems are always unintentional and will be corrected with notification.
The views and opinions of all writers expressed on do not necessarily state or reflect those of the Management.
Copyright © 2001- 2015 - Privacy Policy l Contact