Boxing


Mayweather/Cotto HBO Roadblock Airs Saturday; Gary Shaw's mother passes away; Cotto's early fights

For the first time, HBO transforms two channels into fight-day boxing destinations with a sensational five-hour block of Floyd Mayweather and Miguel Cotto fight-related programming just hours before their pay-per-view showdown in Las Vegas. MAYWEATHER/COTTO HBO ROADBLOCK happens SATURDAY, MAY 5 (4:00-9:00 p.m. ET/1:00-6:00 p.m. PT).

The first four hours of the Roadblock air on HBO2, while “Fight Day Now!,” the final hour, airs on HBO. Presented from the MGM Grand in Las Vegas, “Fight Day Now!” gives all the latest news and insights as the main event approaches. Jim Lampley, who will be ringside to call the blow-by-blow action on the pay-per-view telecast later that evening, hosts the Roadblock.



MAYWEATHER/COTTO HBO ROADBLOCK includes:

4:00 p.m. ET/1:00 p.m. PT: “Face Off with Max Kellerman: Mayweather/Cotto” (HBO2)

4:15 p.m. ET/1:15 p.m. PT: “Portrait of a Fighter: Canelo Alvarez” (HBO2)

4:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. PT: “Floyd Mayweather: Speaking Out” (HBO2)

5:00 p.m. ET/ 2:00 p.m. PT: “24/7 Mayweather/Cotto” episode #1 (HBO2)

5:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. PT: “24/7 Mayweather/Cotto” episode #2 (HBO2)

6:00 p.m. ET/3:00 p.m. PT: “24/7 Mayweather/Cotto” episode #3 (HBO2)

6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT: “24/7 Mayweather/Cotto” episode #4 (HBO2)

7:00 p.m. ET/4:00 p.m. PT: “Mayweather/Cotto: In & Out of the Ring” (HBO2)

7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT: “Weigh-In Live: Mayweather/Cotto” replay (HBO2)

8:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. PT: “Fight Day Now!,” hosted by Jim Lampley (HBO)



Follow HBO boxing news at hbo.com/boxing, on Facebook at facebook.com/hboboxing and on Twitter at twitter.com/hboboxing.

“Mayweather vs. Cotto” takes place Saturday, May 5 from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas and will be produced and distributed live by HBO Pay-Per-View® beginning at 9:00 p.m. (ET)/6:00 p.m. (PT).

The executive producer of MAYWEATHER/COTTO HBO ROADBLOCK is Rick Bernstein; senior producer, Dave Harmon; producer, Jonathan Crystal; director, Bill McCullough.

“A PUÑO LIMPIO” PRESENTS SPECIAL PROGRAM THIS FRIDAY, MAY 4, MIGUEL COTTO’S BEGINNING FIGHTS ON WAPA AMERICA

The successful series “A Puño Limpio” will present this Friday, May 4, a special program with some fights of the beginning in professional boxing of the World Boxing Association (WBA) Junior Middleweight champion Miguel Cotto, in a PR Best Boxing Promotions (PRBBP) production, to be televised on WAPA America from 10:00 p.m. to 12:00 a.m., the day before Cotto’s bout against unbeaten Floyd Mayweather Jr.

The program will shown Cotto’s debut vesus Jason Doucet, his second professional fight versus Jacob Godinez, his “Pay Per View” debut versus Arturo Rodriguez and his great performance against former world champion Carlos Maussa.

The series “A Puño Limpio”, with live bouts, will return on Friday, June 1, 2012 in a location to be announced.

Gary Shaw sadden by the passing of his mother

Promoter Gary Shaw is grieving today with the loss of him mother, Iris Shaw, who passed away this morning in Boca Raton, Florida. She was 90 years old, lived a wonderful life and left behind 2 children, Gary and Cheryl, 5 grandchildren and 5 great-grandchildren.

"My mother was a very strong woman who was always there for us. She was a charismatic person who always put a smile on our faces. She was a fight fan, whose first date with my late father 70 years ago, was at a live fight. I know she's in a better place now but I will always remember the fun times we shared as a family. Words can't describe how much I loved her. I will miss her dearly." - Gary Shaw

Article posted on 02.05.2012



Bookmark and Share


previous article: Exclusive Interview With Paulie Malignaggi - “I Can Win Rounds Against Any Fighter In The World”

next article: Pirog decisions Ishida










If you detect any issues with the legality of this site, problems are always unintentional and will be corrected with notification.
The views and opinions of all writers expressed on Boxing247.com do not necessarily state or reflect those of the Management.
Copyright © 2001- 2015 Boxing247.com - Privacy Policy l Contact