The 2009 National PAL Champions are Crowned in San Antonio, Texas

SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS) – 2009 National PAL Championships action concluded on Saturday at the Municipal Auditorium in San Antonio, Texas as the open divisions champions were crowned in both male and female action. The Junior Division boxers competed in final round action on Friday afternoon with the exception of the light welterweight division, which concluded in the opening bout of Saturday night’s competition. All of the open division champions will earn an automatic berth into the 2010 USA Boxing National Championships..

Nearly 600 boxers started the week with the hopes of becoming a National PAL Champion, but only 59 boxers could accomplish the feat after a week of amateur boxing action.

Friday and Saturday National PAL Results
Open Division Championship Bouts

138 lbs/senior JO: Martin Mares, Jr., dec. Javier Montes, 11-5
101 lbs/open/female: Laura Ramirez dec. Jessica Ponce, 5-4
108 lbs/open: Santos Vasquez won on retirement over Michael Benedosso, RET
112 lbs/open: Tyriesha Douglas dec. Ashley Alvarado, 21-7
114 lbs/open: Adam Lopez dec. Alan Garcia, 27-4
119 lbs/open/female: Lauren Fisher dec. Cristina Cruz, 6-2
123 lbs/open: Victor Pasillas dec. Joe Perez, 12-1
125 lbs/open/female: Melissa Roberts dec. Elizabeth Leddy, 41-7
132 lbs/open/female: Miakela Mayer dec. Katonya Fisher, 17-9
132 lbs/open: Erick Deleon dec. Eric Altamirano , 12-3
141 lbs/open/female: Queen Underwood dec. Althea Saunders, 11-4
141 lbs/open: Pedro Sosa dec. Tommy Duquette, 13-2
152 lbs/open: Alex Martin dec. William Williams, 7-4
165 lbs/open/female: Alyssa Defazio dec. Jaquilia Bullard, 27-4
165 lbs/open: Luis Arias dec. Chris Pearson, 10-7
178 lbs/open: Samuel Alex Clarkston, Jr., dec. Siju Shabazz, 11-10
178+ lbs/open: Denise Rico dec. Traynora Locke, 12-6
201 lbs/open: Fredrick Samuels dec. Joshua Temple, 8-6
201+ lbs/open: Lenroy Thompson dec. Bryant Jennings, 7-1

Friday, October 23

Evening session – Open Semifinal Bouts
101 lbs/open/female: Laura Ramirez dec. Delira Christian, 8-6
101 lbs/open/female: Jessica Ponce dec. Paola Arana, 14-6
108 lbs/open: Santos Vasquez dec. Joe Garcia, 13-2
108 lbs/open: Michael Benedosso dec. Oscar Mojia, 15-8
112 lbs/open/female: Ashley Alvarado won on walkover
112 lbs/open/female: Tyriesha Douglas dec. Cynthia Moreno
114 lbs/open: Adam Lopez dec. Diego Hurtado, 10-1
114 lbs/open: Alan Garcia dec. John Franklin, 14-12
119 lbs/open/female: Christina Cruz dec. Amy Sowers, 13-2
119 lbs/open/female: Lauren Fisher stopped Hartia Aleem, RSC-2
125 lbs/open/female: Elizabeth Leddy stopped Leesa Daniels, RSC-2
125 lbs/open/female: Melissa Roberts stopped Alexandria Cardenas, RSC-3
123 lbs/open: Victor Pasillas dec. Isaac Torres, 8-0
123 lbs/open: Joe Perez dec. Oscar Vasquez, 9-8
132 lbs/open/female: Katonya Fisher dec. Caroline Barry, 7-7 (15-14)
132 lbs/open/female: Mikaela Mayer dec. Jennifer Fern, 19-10
132 lbs/open: Eric Altamirano dec. Adam Munguilla, 5-3
132 lbs/open: Erick Deleon dec. George Rincon, 22-15
141 lbs/open/female: Althea Saunders dec. Kristin Gearhart, 18-7
141 lbs/open/female: Queen Underwood dec. Jenna Johlin, 8-1
141 lbs/open: Tommy Duquette dec. Mark Martinez, 8-6
141 lbs/open: Pedro Sosa dec. Jamal James, 5-2
152 lbs/open: William Williams dec. Sidney Williams, 7-5
152 lbs/open: Alex Martin dec. Kelvin Butler, 4-2
165 lbs/open: Chris Pearson dec. Damazo Tello, 6-1
165 Luis Arias dec. Samuel Vasquez, 11-2
165 lbs/open/female: Jaquilia Bullard dec. Maria Norton-Baum, 23-21
178 lbs/open: Samuel Alex Clarkson dec. Payton Boyea, 8-4
178 lbs/open: Siju Shabazz stopped Gildardo Garcia, RSC-2
178+ lbs/open/female: Traynora Locke dec. Dominique McGlotin, 15-0
201 lbs/open: Joshua Temple dec. Javonta Charles, 8-2
201 lbs/open: Frederick Samuels dec. Michael Bissett, 8-5
201+ lbs/open: Lenroy Thompson dec. Shawn Seymore, 16-1
201+ lbs/open: Bryant Jennings stopped Jabril Temple, RSC-3

Afternoon session - Junior Championship Bouts
60 lbs/junior: Guillermo Gutierrez, Jr., dec. Aidan Campos, 7-5
65 lbs/junior: Dylon Price dec. Jody Gauthier, 5-3
70 lbs/junior: Andrew Strode dec. Timothy Longora, 6-3
75 lbs/junior: Kevin Montano dec. Jonathan Rodriguez, 16-5
80 lbs/junior: Michael Dutchover dec. Jorge Castaneda, 5-2
90 lbs/junior: Ruben Villa dec. Anthony Gonzales, 10-1
95 lbs/junior: Brandon Trejo dec. Dominic Delgado, 12-2
101 lbs/junior: Luis Garcia dec. Justin Aranzamendez, 10-3
80 lbs/intermediate: Roscoe Hill dec. Roger Portillo, 14-4
85 lbs/intermediate: Isaias Perez dec. Francisco De Los Reyes, 17-16
90 lbs/intermediate: Mario Barrus dec. Isajah Najera, 19-5
95 lbs/intermediate: Daniel Ramirez dec. Mike Yanez, 10-2
101 lbs/intermediate/female: Dominique Salas dec. Jasmine Hampton, 7-5
101 lbs/intermediate: Hector Valdez dec. James Taylor, 9-4
106 lbs/intermediate: Heriberto Ramirez dec. Jonathan Padilla, 3-2
110 lbs/intermediate: Luis Castro dec. Christian Sanibanes, 11-5
114 lbs/intermediate: Gervonta Davis dec. Erickson Lubin, 5-5 (11-11) (3-2)
119 lbs/intermediate: Ruben Ozuna dec. Joey Alday, 14-10
119 lbs/intermediate/female: Mariah Maribal dec. Kristal Gonzales, 14-8
125 lbs/intermediate: Gilbert Vasquez dec. Jacob Almaguer, 6-3
132 lbs/intermediate: Junior Younan dec. Christopher Johnson, 9-3
138 lbs/intermediate: Kareem Martin dec. Mark Reyes, 8-2
101 lbs/senior: Aaron Gerda dec. Gilbert Llamas, 7-5
110 lbs/senior: Shawn Simpson dec. Edwin Sandoval, 7-4
114 lbs/senior/female: Christal Barajas dec. Ayanna Vasquez, 11-10
106 lbs/senior/female: Rianna Rios dec. Elizabeth Rodriguez, 8-1
106 lbs/senior: Ernesto Delgadillo dec. Carlos Suaraz, 13-11
114 lbs/senior: Tramaine Williams dec. Keevan Evans, 7-1
119 lbs/senior: Thomas Hill dec. Jorge Rodriguez, 18-2
125 lbs/senior: Luis Feliciano dec. Ezequiel Martinez, 6-6 (10-11)
125 lbs/senior/female: Selina Barrios dec. Shanne Ruelas, 31-10
132 lbs/senior: Cristain Shapa dec. Mikail Jones, 9-6
138 lbs/senior: Javier Montes dec. Cristino Ceballo, 9-9 (19-17) (semifinal)
138 lbs/senior: Martin Mares, Jr., dec. Braulio Martinez, 12-5 (semifinal)
145 lbs/senior: Martin Luganas dec. Kent Cruz, 11-9
154 lbs/senior: Austin Omeben dec. Immanuwel Aleem, 7-6
165 lbs/senior: D’Mitrius Ballard dec. Desmond Nicholson, 6-1
176 lbs/senior: Jerry Odom dec. James Singleton, 31-3
176+ lbs/senior: Adrian Garza stopped Alberto Espinozo, RSC-1 (1:27)

USA Boxing, as the national governing body for Olympic-style boxing, is the United States’ member organization of the International Amateur Boxing Association (AIBA) and a member of the United States Olympic Committee (USOC). It is responsible for the selection and management of the United States Olympic Boxing Team, and for the governance and oversight of USA Boxing’s national organization of 38,000 members, 1,400 individual boxing clubs, and 1,600 sanctioned events annually.

Article posted on 21.10.2009

Bookmark and Share

previous article: Kessler & Ward Weigh In On Saturday’s Results

next article: Event-Only Tickets for "World's Greatest Ever Boxer" fight card and awards ceremony

If you detect any issues with the legality of this site, problems are always unintentional and will be corrected with notification.
The views and opinions of all writers expressed on do not necessarily state or reflect those of the Management.
Copyright © 2001- 2015 - Privacy Policy l Contact