Houston to Host the 2008 U.S. Olympic Boxing Team Trials

(COLORADO SPRINGS, COLO.) – The U.S. Olympic Team Trials – Boxing will travel south for the 2008 edition as Houston, Texas and the George R. Brown Convention Center will play host to the event. Eighty-eight of the nation’s top amateur boxers will vie for 11 coveted Olympic berths at the Olympic Trials, August 20-26, 2007..

Eight boxers will compete in each of the 11 weight divisions at the double elimination tournament, which will determine the U.S. Olympic Team for Boxing. The 88 U.S. Olympic Team Trials competitors earned berths in the event by advancing to quarterfinal action at the 2007 U.S. Championships.

"We are thrilled to be hosting this very prestigious event in Houston, and know that the USA Boxing’s athletes will find our city to be very exciting. Houston is definitely a sports city. We offer state-of-the-art facilities, great accommodations, and our sports fans are amongst the best in the country. This should be a wonderful experience for spectators and athletes alike," stated Janis Schmees, Executive Director of the Harris County - Houston Sports Authority.

Houston boasts outstanding experience in putting on major Olympic-style boxing events having hosted the AIBA Senior World Championships in 1999.

"We are delighted that this year's Olympic Trials will take place in Houston,” said USA Boxing Chief Executive Officer Jim Millman. “One of our current objectives at USA Boxing is to increase exposure of the sport to fans in more major markets nationwide, and Houston certainly meets that goal."

“The USOC is committed to working in partnership with USA Boxing and the Harris County - Houston Sports Authority to provide a world-class Olympic Trials event that will be the first step towards our common goal of competitive excellence in Beijing," said Steve Roush, the USOC's Chief of Sport Performance.

2008 Olympic Team Trials action will kick off with first round action on August 20, and conclude with final round competition on August 25 and a second day of final round action, if necessary, on August 26. The victors of the winners’ bracket and the challengers’ bracket will meet in the final two days of action. The winners’ bracket victors will need to win one of the final round bouts to earn a berth on the U.S. Olympic Team.

2008 U.S. Olympic Team Trials – Boxing Schedule

August 20 – 44 Preliminary Round Bouts

August 21 – 22 Winners’ bracket second round bout and 22 Challengers’ bracket first round bouts

August 22 – 11 Winners’ bracket third round bouts* and 22 Challengers’ bracket second round bouts

August 23 - 11 Challengers’ bracket third round bouts

August 24 – 11 Challengers’ bracket fourth round bouts*

August 25- 11 Final round bouts between the winners’ bracket victors and the challengers’ bracket winners

August 26 – Final Round bouts between the winners’ bracket victors and the challengers’ bracket winners (if necessary)

*Winners advance to final round action on August 25

Light flyweight/106 lbs
1. Luis Yanez, Duncanville, Texas
2. Daniel Lozano, Bowling Green, Fla.
3. Diego Hurtado, Reno, Nev.
4. Keola McKee, Wailuku, Hawaii/NMU
5. Roberto Ceron, Doraville, Ga.
6. Malcom Franklin, Bakersfield, Calif.
7. Gabino Saenz, Indio, Calif.
8. Jerail Singleton, St. Louis, Mo.

Flyweight/112 lbs
1. Rau’shee Warren, Cincinnati, Ohio
2. Aaron Alafa, Visalia, Calif.
3. Timothy Ibarra, Brighton, Colo.
4. John Franklin, Fort Carson, Colo.
5. Bruno Escalante, Waimanalo, Hawaii/NMU
6. Qa’id Muhammad, Atlantic City, N.J.
7. Juan Leija, Alvin, Texas
8. David Gaspar, Wilmington, Calif.

Bantamweight/119 lbs
1. Ronny Rios, Santa Ana, Calif.
2. David Clark, San Diego, Calif./NMU
3. Gary Russell, Jr., Capitol Heights, Md.
4. Sammy DiPace, Las Cruces, N.M.
5. Roberto Marroquin, Dallas, Texas
6. Sergio Perales, Los Fresnos, Texas
7. Jessy Cruz, Miami, Fla.
8. Alexis Ramos, Ft. Carson, Colo.

Featherweight/125 lbs
1. Raynell Williams, Cleveland, Ohio
2. Rico Ramos, Los Angeles, Calif.
3. Hylon Williams, Houston, Texas
4. Shemuel Pagan, Brooklyn, N.Y.
|5. Duran Caferro, Helena, Mont.
6. Troy Wohosky, Medford, Ore.
7. Robert Rodriguez, Evans, Colo.
8. Rosey Summerville, San Antonio, Texas

Lightweight/132 lbs
1. Diego Magdaleno, Las Vegas, Nev.
2. Jerry Belmontes, Corpus Christi, Texas
3. Mason Menard, Rayne, La.
4. Terence Crawford, Omaha, Neb.
5. Miguel Gonzalez, Cleveland, Ohio
6. Sadam Ali, Brooklyn, N.Y.
7. James Villa, Fort Carson, Colo.
8. Antton Slaughter, Columbus, Ohio

Light welterweight/141 lbs
1. Javier Molina, Commerce, Calif.
2. Brad Solomon, Douglasville, Ga.
3. Dan O’Connor, Framingham, Mass.
4. Danny Garcia, Philadelphia, Pa.
5. Andre Sherard, Milwaukee, Wis.
6. Michael Dallas, Bakersfield, Calif.\
7. Samuel Martinez, Jacksonville, N.C.
8. Jeremy Bryan, Clifton, N.J.

Welterweight/152 lbs
1. Charles Hatley, Dallas, Texas
2. Mahlon Kerwick, Fort Carson, Colo.
3. Keith Thurman, St. Petersburg, Fla.
4. Demetrius Andrade, Providence, R.I.
5. Boyd Melson, Fort Carson, Colo.
6. Domonique Dolton, Detroit, Mich.
7. Anthony Campbell, Covington, Tenn.
8. David Lopez, Parma, Idaho

Middleweight/165 lbs
1. Fernando Guerrero, Salisbury, Md.
2. Shawn Porter, Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
3. Jonathan Nelson, Little Rock, Ark.
4. Shawn Estrada, Downey, Calif.
5. Angel Santos, Newark, N.J.
6. Dominic Wade, Largo, Md.
7. Zacheus Hardwick, Fort Carson, Colo.
8. Daniel Jacobs, Brooklyn, N.Y.

Light heavyweight/178 lbs
1. Christopher Downs, Fort Carson, Colo.
2. Yathomas Riley, San Diego, Calif.
3. Siju Shabazz, Las Cruces, N.M.
4. Cymone Kearney, Oakland, Calif.
5. Jeffrey Spencer, Fort Carson, Colo.
6. DeRae Crane, Davenport, Iowa/NMU
7. Nicholas Swan, Great Falls, Mont.
8. Angel Concepcion, E. Orange, N.J.

Heavyweight/201 lbs
1. Deontay Wilder, Tuscaloosa, Ala.
2. James Zimmerman, San Jose, Calif.
3. Adam Willett, Bell Port, N.Y.
4. Joe Guzman, Fort Carson, Colo.
5. Anthony Tettis, Ridgway, Pa.
6. Aleco Lawton, Orlando, Fla.
7. David Carey, Anchorage, Alaska
8. Quantis Graves, Cut Off, La.

Super heavyweight
1. Michael Hunter, Las Vegas, Nev.
2. Mike Wilson, Central Point, Ore.
3. Lenroy Thompson, Port St. Lucie, Fla.
4. William Moore, Fort Carson, Colo.
5. Josh Parsons, Barboursville, W. Va.
6. Nate James, Malden, Mass./NMU
7. Kimdo Bethel, Albany, N.Y.
8. Andrew Shepherd, Fort Carson, Colo.

Article posted on 25.06.2007

Bookmark and Share

previous article: Hatton's Performance Earned Him A Shot At An 'Oscar'?: Now What Does This Mean For Floyd Mayweather Jr.?

next article: The Time Tunnel: Gene Tunney

If you detect any issues with the legality of this site, problems are always unintentional and will be corrected with notification.
The views and opinions of all writers expressed on do not necessarily state or reflect those of the Management.
Copyright © 2001- 2015 - Privacy Policy l Contact