Calzaghe to present Pacquiao with "Fighter of the Year" Award

NEW YORK, NY (May 20, 2007) -- Boxing's current longest-reigning world champion, JOE CALZAGHE, will present the Edward J. Neil Trophy as the "Fighter of 2006" to three-division world champion MANNY PACQUIAO at the Boxing Writers Association of America's 82nd Annual Awards Dinner, the BWAA announced today. The awards dinner will take place Friday, June 8, at the Copacabana in New York..

Calzaghe (43-0, 32 KOs), from Newbridge, Wales, successfully defended the super middleweight title he has held since 1997, by stopping top-five contender Peter Manfredo, Jr. in the third round of their April 7 fight. Fought before 35,000-plus fans at Millennium Stadium -- a European record for an indoor event -- and millions of fans who watched it live on HBO -- it was Calzaghe's landmark 20th consecutive title defense, the most of any British world champion and tied for fourth on boxing's all-time list with Larry Holmes and Bernard Hopkins.

"It is an honor to be selected to present this award to boxing's most exciting fighter," said Calzaghe. "I look forward to a great night at one of boxing's most cherished events."

Remaining tickets, priced at $100 for BWAA members and $175 for non-members, and tables of 10 at $1,750, can be purchased by sending a check, credit card information or money order to: BWAA, P.O. Box 41, Buffalo, NY 14223. (Credit card orders will not be accepted after May 26.) The order form and the entire invitation can be accessed via this link.

Major award recipients at this year's dinner include: KEVIN IOLE (Nat Fleischer Award for "Career Achievement in Boxing Journalism"), FREDDIE ROACH (Futch-Condon Award for "Trainer of the Year"), SOMSAK SITHCHATCHAWAL vs. MAHYAR MONSHIPOUR (Harry Markson Award for "Fight of the Year"), STEVE ALBERT (Sam Taub Award for "Excellence in Broadcast Journalism"), LEE SAMUELS and RICARDO JIMENEZ (Marvin Kohn "Good Guy" Award), LARRY MERCHANT (James J. Walker Award for "Long and Meritorious Service"), RON SCOTT STEVENS (James A. Farley Award "For Honesty and Integrity") and MUHAMMAD ALI (Pat Putnam Award "For Perseverance.")

Article posted on 20.05.2007

Bookmark and Share

previous article: Sharkie's Machine: Kelly Pavlik Wrecks Edison Miranda In Seven; Taylor decisions Spinks

next article: Arena Boss Ahmet Öner: “A group of Nazis attacked us at Universum's 250th event!”

If you detect any issues with the legality of this site, problems are always unintentional and will be corrected with notification.
The views and opinions of all writers expressed on do not necessarily state or reflect those of the Management.
Copyright © 2001- 2015 - Privacy Policy l Contact