Boxing

De La Hoya, Mayweather: The Countdown clock is ticking

LAS VEGAS, NV (March 22, 2007) . . . The Countdown clock is ticking with six weeks remaining before the highly anticipated 'The World Awaits' super fight between Oscar De La Hoya and Floyd Mayweather, Saturday, May 5 from MGM Grand in Las Vegas live on HBO Pay-Per-View. Golden Boy Promotions is pleased to offer media members a schedule of weekly international media conference calls beginning Wednesday, March 28, and continuing throughout April until fight week begins May 1..

The series will kick-off with a special early camp "check-in" from both fighters starting with Floyd Mayweather (2:00pm ET/11:00am PT) who will be immediately followed by Oscar De La Hoya (2:45pm ET/11:45am PT.) Subsequently, calls will take place every Wednesday beginning at 2:00pm ET/11:00am PT.

Throughout the remaining weeks, calls will include special announcements, camp updates and selected speakers. Highlights of the series include Freddie Roach, Roger Mayweather, Shane Mosley, Golden Boy CEO Richard Schaefer and Matchmaker Eric Gomez, MGM MIRAGE oddsmaker Robert Walker and final opportunities with De La Hoya and Mayweather. An alert for each call will be distributed in advance.

The De La Hoya vs. Mayweather pay-per-view telecast, beginning at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT, has a suggested retail price of $54.95, will be distributed by HBO Pay-Per-View and will be available to more than 61 million pay-per-view homes and in 176 countries around the world. The telecast will be available in HD-TV. HBO Pay-Per-View is the leading supplier of event programming to the pay-per-view industry. For your daily De La Hoya vs. Mayweather fight week updates visit www.hbo.com.

On Sunday, Apr. 15 at 10:30 p.m. ET/PT, HBO will premiere the all-access prime time series "De La Hoya/Mayweather 24/7." The four-part series, with unprecedented access, will chronicle the fighters' preparations for the May 5 mega-fight at MGM Grand and will provide viewers with a compelling look at two extraordinary champions.

Article posted on 23.03.2007



Bookmark and Share


previous article: Slater: The Ten Greatest Heavyweights In History

next article: Kessler-Andrade Weigh-In Photos










If you detect any issues with the legality of this site, problems are always unintentional and will be corrected with notification.
The views and opinions of all writers expressed on Boxing247.com do not necessarily state or reflect those of the Management.
Copyright © 2001- 2015 Boxing247.com - Privacy Policy l Contact