Boxing news, views and results

Ads by Yahoo

GB Boxing names 10 seeded boxers to compete in England Boxing’s National Senior Elite Finals

The British Amateur Boxing Association (BABA) has named the 10 English members of the GB Boxing squad that will be seeded in the quarter-finals of England Boxing’s National Senior Elite Men’s Finals 2014.

The 10 boxers will not compete in the regional phase of the competition and will join the tournament for the final stages which will be held over three days at Echo Arena Liverpool on the weekend of 25-27 April.

The 10 seeded boxers includes seven members of GB Boxing’s Podium Squad and three from its Podium Potential group and includes World and European Championship medallists and six former winners of the Elite National Championships.

Two of the biggest names include 2013 World Championship bronze medallist at middleweight, Antony Fowler, who will be competing in his hometown, and 2011 European Championship bronze medallist, Charlie Edwards, who will box at flyweight.

Also included are Liverpool’s Sam Maxwell at light-welterweight and super-heavyweight, Frazer Clarke, who have just won gold at The Strandja Cup in Bulgaria in a tough international tournament.

Other members of the Podium Squad that have been seeded in the quarter-finals are bantamweight, Qais Ashfaq, light-heavyweight, Lawrence Osueke and heavyweight, Warren Baister.

The entries from the Podium Potential group include 2011 World and European Junior Champion, Pat McCormack, who will compete at lightweight, 2012 World Youth Champion, Oliver Simpson, at light-flyweight and Repton’s Sam McNess at welterweight.

Edwards, Ashfaq, Maxwell, Fowler, Osueke and Baister are all previous winners of the Elite National Championships. Clarke and McNess have both been in finals. McCormack and Simpson are first time entrants in the Senior Championships.

Other members of the GB Boxing squad will also be competing in the tournament via the normal entry route and will compete in the regional phases of the competition and represent their home club.

“With six previous champions and a number of boxers that have won international tournaments this is a high quality list of entries that will significantly enhance the Championships and ensure that winning this year’s tournament will be a very meaningful victory,” said England Boxing board member and Chair of the Technical Rules and Championships Sub-Committee, Giorgio Brugnoli.

“We want to ensure this year’s finals are the best possible showcase of young English talent and I would like to thank Rob McCracken and his coaching team at GB Boxing for their support of the national championships and working with us to ensure a high quality contingent from the GB squad are able to participate in the event. I have no doubt it will increase the quality and excitement of the finals weekend and deliver a great spectacle for fans.”

The full list of seeded boxers is:

Squad member

Weight category


Oliver Simpson

Light-flyweight (48Kg)

Kelly’s ABC, Leeds

Charlie Edwards

Flyweight (52 Kg)

Repton, London

Qais Ashfaq

Bantamweight (56 Kg)

KBW ABC. Leeds

Pat McCormack

Lightweight (60 Kg)

Birtley ABC, Birtley

Sam Maxwell

Light-welterweight (64kg)

Salisbury ABC, Liverpool

Sam McNess

Welterweight (69Kg)

Repton, London

Antony Fowler

Middleweight (75kg)

Golden Gloves, Liverpool

Lawrence Osueke

Light-heavyweight (81 Kg)

Rye Hill ABC, Newcastle

Warren Baister

Heavyweight (91kg)

Sunderland ABC, Sunderland

Frazer Clarke

Super-heavyweight (91 Kg+)

Burton ABC, Burton

In a revamp of the latter stages of the competition, the quarter-finals, semis and finals will be held over three consecutive days of competition at the 5,000 plus seater, Echo Arena Liverpool and be televised on Sky Sports 2 from 2000-2200 on Friday 2nd May 2014.

The quarter-finals will be held after the regional stages of the Championships which will be completed by 13 April 2014. At this point there will be 12 Regional Association winners plus one GB Boxing nominated entry, meaning there will be 13 boxers in each weight category.

The process for reducing these 13 boxers down to the eight required for the quarter-finals is set out below:

The GB Boxing nominated entry will be seeded No.1
Two other boxers, selected by the Technical & Rules Sub Committee will become seed No. 2 and seed No.3
The 10 remaining boxers will compete in five pre quarter-final bouts
The five winners of the pre quarter-final bouts will join the three seeded boxers in the draw for the quarter finals.

Pre quarter-finals:

There will be two pre quarter-final tournaments, one in the North Zone to take place in Tyne Tees & Wear and one in the South Zone to take place in Combined Services Boxing Association
Depending on which Association the No.2 and No.3 Seed boxer is selected from, this will determine how many boxers are left within the North Zone and how many boxers are left in the South Zone. If there are an equal number of boxers in the North Zone, then these boxers will compete in the North Zone Pre Quarter Final and equally the same ruling for the South Zone
Should a boxer from the North Zone have to compete against a boxer from the South Zone, every effort will be made to minimise travel by deciding whether the bout takes place in the North or in the South, however these factors will not compromise the process of selecting seeds
Should any weight category have less than 13 boxers entered after the Association Finals have been completed, there will be a sliding scale of how many pre quarter-final bouts will be required and the use of byes may come into play

Clubs or members that have further questions about the format should contact their Regional Association, their Club Support Officer or England Boxing directly via or Freephone number 0800 023 2692.

Rate this post