Ads by Yahoo

Fernando Guerrero vs. Juan Carlos Candelo on November 3rd

LOS ANGELES, October 26 – Fists will be flying on Saturday, November 3, in Humble, Texas when middleweight young gun Fernando Guerrero and veteran contender J.C. Candelo face off in a 10 round fight at the Humble Civic Center which will be televised on FOX Sports Net, FOX Deportes and FUEL TV.

In the co-feature, talented up-and-comer J’Leon Love will take on an opponent to be named in an eight round fight.

Guerrero vs. Candelo is presented by Golden Boy Promotions in association with South Coast Promotions and sponsored by Corona and DeWalt Tools. Doors open at 6:00 p.m. PT on fight night and the first bell rings at 7:00 p.m. PT. The FOX Sports Net broadcast will air live at 10:00 p.m. ET/7:00 p.m. PT and the FOX Deportes Spanish language broadcast will air at 10:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. PT. FUEL TV will rebroadcast the fight on December 30 at 2:00 p.m. ET/11:00 a.m. PT.

Tickets priced starting at $25 are available for purchase by calling (713) 373-7106.

25-year-old southpaw Fernando Guerrero (24-1, 18 KO’s) has made a steady climb back into world title contention at 160 pounds after suffering the lone loss of his career to Grady Brewer at junior middleweight in June of 2011. Since then, the all-action fighter from Salisbury, Maryland has stopped Robert Kliewer and Jason Naugler and nearly shut out Jose Medina, making a statement to the fight world that he’s ready for a big finish to 2012 and an even bigger 2013.

Buenaventura, Colombia’s Juan Carlos “J.C.” Candelo (32-11-4, 21 KO’s) has won five of his last six bouts, including victories over Chase Shields and highly regarded prospect Justin Flanagan. The respected veteran has battled some of the best the game has had to offer including Winky Wright, Kassim Ouma and Vernon Phillips. Now, he is eager to add a world title to his resume and the 38-year-old knows that his last run for the gold can only begin should he defeat rising star Guerrero.

Detroit’s J’Leon Love (13-0, 7 KO’s) has an intriguing mix of speed, power and style in the ring, making him one of the top boxers to watch in the coming years. He had an impressive 115-5 record as an amateur and the 25-year-old has been unstoppable as a professional, winning all 13 of his bouts in impressive style. Already 4-0 in 2012, Love avenged an amateur loss against Ramon Valenzuela Jr. in September and he’s back on November 3 to display his talents again.